[MARMAM] Invitation: Upcoming Virtual Events on Marine Mammal Bycatch Assessment

Emily Knight eknight at pewtrusts.org
Wed Feb 23 09:46:17 PST 2022


Please join us for two exciting webinars in March about projects the Lenfest Ocean Program is supporting to facilitate the development of robust marine mammal bycatch assessment programs around the world. Webinars will be recorded, and more information is below, including a link to register. Please forward this email to interested colleagues!

Best Practices to Assess and Manage Marine Mammal Bycatch | Register here<https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_pY3icF0RTFepCvsP27PvGA>
Thursday, March 10, 2022, at 12:30 pm ET | 9:30 am PT
Description: Join us for a round table discussion with members of the Ocean Modeling Forum's Marine Mammal Bycatch Working Group<https://oceanmodelingforum.org/working-groups/marine-mammal-bycatch-working-group/> as they share their main findings and final products on how to develop and implement assessments of marine mammal bycatch. Experts will discuss how nations can use their work to make meaningful progress on complying with the U.S. MMPA Import Provisions.

Marine Mammal Bycatch Risk Assessment in Chile | Register here<https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_tVR5cCmWSXW0tfl-dyXInQ>
Thursday, March 24 at 2pm ET | 11am PT | 3pm Chile
Description: Building off of the Marine Mammal Bycatch Working Group's efforts, a team of researchers is working with managers, scientists, and local fishing communities to assess marine mammal bycatch risk<https://www.lenfestocean.org/en/news-and-publications/fact-sheet/new-research-to-assess-marine-mammal-bycatch-risk-in-chile> along the coast of Chile. In this webinar, members of the working group will walk through the background of their research, how it's informing fisheries management in Chile, and a look at some of their preliminary results.

Best,
Emily Knight
Manager, Lenfest Ocean Program
The Pew Charitable Trusts
eknight at pewtrusts.org<mailto:eknight at pewtrusts.org>

--
Emily Knight
Manager, Lenfest Ocean Program
[LenfestOceanProgram-Logo-Color-(2)]
901 E Street NW, 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20004

SIGN UP<https://www.lenfestocean.org/en/about-us/contact-us/lenfest-newsletter-sign-up> FOR LENFEST OCEAN NEWS

w: 202-540-6389 | c: 202-384-6534 | e: eknight at lenfestocean.org<mailto:eknight at lenfestocean.org>
www.lenfestocean.org<http://www.lenfestocean.org/>|twitter: @lenfestocean<https://twitter.com/LenfestOcean>


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.uvic.ca/pipermail/marmam/attachments/20220223/4b6eaf83/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image001.png
Type: image/png
Size: 7412 bytes
Desc: image001.png
URL: <http://lists.uvic.ca/pipermail/marmam/attachments/20220223/4b6eaf83/attachment.png>


More information about the MARMAM mailing list