[MARMAM] Call for Nominations for the ECS Mandy McMath Conservation Award

Andrew Wright marinebrit at gmail.com
Tue Dec 2 14:47:02 PST 2014

Dear Colleagues,

Apologies for cross-posting.

We are now accepting nominations for the ECS Conservation Award, which will
be given for the fifth time during the 29th ECS conference in St. Julian’s,
Malta (23rd-25th March, 2015). The award is for an outstanding contribution
to the field of marine mammal conservation and/or welfare, with particular
emphasis on contributions to environmental education and/or to conservation
in practice (e.g. leading to improved legislation or management).

This award is particularly noteworthy this year given the inclusion of
policy-related presentations in line with the theme of the conference.

The award will be judged on the basis of a proposal made using the format
given below and related material as described. It will be decided upon by
consensus, or a majority vote of the ECS Conservation Award Committee. The
winner of the award will be announced during the ECS Conference.
Self-nominations are strongly discouraged. The Committee reserves the right
not to present the award if no appropriate nominations are received.

The ECS Award Committee comprises:

Andrew Wright (Chair)
Aviad Scheinin
Thierry Jauniaux
Hanna Nuuttila
Ayaka Öztürk
Mark Simmonds
Simon Berrow

Nominations should conform to the following format:

Name(s) of person(s)/institution/body nominated for award

Address and contact details

Description of the work/body of work proposed for the award (maximum length
of proposal 250 words)
Note that the award can be given for a single conservation-education tool
(such as a book or for an entire body of work - i.e. a series of linked
contributions) in the sphere of education relating to marine mammal
conservation and or welfare.

Full references for the material identified above and any relevant

Name of nominator(s)

Address and contact details

The nomination, and any supporting material if deemed necessary, should be
sent to the Chair of the Award Committee by 27th February, 2015.

Andrew J. Wright, Ph.D.
ECS Conservation Award Chair
Email: marinebrit at gmail.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.uvic.ca/pipermail/marmam/attachments/20141202/a467280c/attachment.html>

More information about the MARMAM mailing list