[MARMAM] ECS Conservation Award 2012

mmonachus mmonachus at ttmail.com
Tue Nov 29 05:24:07 PST 2011

ECS Conservation Award


The award is for an outstanding contribution to the field of marine mammal conservation and/or welfare, with particular emphasis on contributions to environmental education and/or to conservation in practice (e.g. leading to improved legislation or management). 


The award will be judged on the basis of a proposal made using the format given below and related material as described. It will be decided upon by consensus, or a majority vote of the ECS Conservation Award Committee. The winner of the award will be announced during the ECS Conference. Self-nominations are discouraged. The Committee reserves the right not to present the award if no appropriate nominations are received. 


The ECS Award Committee comprises: 


Ayaka Ozturk (Chair)

Simon Berrow 

Thierry Jauniaux

Mandy McMath

Aviad Scheinin

Mark Simmonds




Name(s) of person(s)/institution/body nominated for award


Address and contact details


Description of the work/body of work proposed for the award (maximum length of proposal 250 words)

NB The award can be given for a single conservation-education tool (such as a book or for an entire body of work - i.e. a series of linked contributions) in the sphere of education relating to marine mammal conservation and or welfare. 


Full references for the material identified above and any relevant web-links. 


Name of nominator(s) 


Address and contact details


This form, and any supporting material if deemed necessary, should be sent to the Chair of the Award Committee by 17 February 2012. 


Dr. Ayaka Ozturk, 

ECS Conservation Award Chair

Email: mmonachus at ttmail.com

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.uvic.ca/pipermail/marmam/attachments/20111129/205977cb/attachment.html>

More information about the MARMAM mailing list