[ilds] Durrell Society Leadership: Nominations Request

Anne R Zahlan zahlan at earthlink.net
Sat Mar 29 10:22:27 PDT 2008

Greetings Durrellians:

    The 2008 ILDS Nominations Committee would like to receive suggestions
from members as to potential nominees for service as Society officers and
members of the Executive Board for the 2008-2010 period. (Elections will be
held at the conference in Paris in July 2008.)

            To be eligible to serve, according to the by-laws, "a person
must currently be a member in good standing of the Society and have been so
for at least two years."  Officers and other Board members are expected to
attend ILDS conferences and Executive Board meetings and generally to play
an active role in furthering the work of the Society. (The Board meets in
alternate years at the "On Miracle Ground conferences, as well as each year
during the "Louisville [Kentucky] Conference on Culture and Literature Since
1900," where ILDS sponsors one or two invited sessions.)

            The ILDS officers include a president, a vice-president, and a
secretary-treasurer; three elected at-large members also serve on the Board,
as well as past presidents of the Society.  (See the ILDS Web site for
further information on officer and Board responsibilities and on the
nominating process: http://www.lawrencedurrell.org/socbylaw.htm.)

            Current (2006-08) ILDS officers include Don Kaczvinsky,
president; James Gifford, vice-president; and Paul Lorenz,
secretary-treasurer. Because the By-Laws specify that the president and
vice-president may serve two consecutive terms and because there are no term
limits on the position of secretary-treasurer, this year all incumbent
officers are eligible for nomination. The Board also includes past
presidents who wish to take part in deliberations and three at-large
members; the at-large positions are currently held by Pamela Francis
(completing a first term on the Board), Linda Rashidi (completing a second
term), and Charles Sligh (completing a fourth term). There are no term
limits on the at-large positions.

            Please send your suggestions and comments, as soon as possible,
to any or all of the members of this year's Nominations Committee:  James
Decker (jdecker at icc.edu), William Godshalk (godshawl at email.uc.edu),  and/or
Anne Zahlan (arzahlan at eiu.edu).


            Nominations Committee 2008 (James, Bill, Anne)

More information about the ILDS mailing list